Sunday, May 9, 2010
The State of Music Today..
As I was doing my homework today, I was listening to Mary J. Blige's classic My Life album. Just like most women, this album has gotten me through some of the best and worst times of my life(no pun intended). There is a hint of loneliness, sadness, desperation, and a yearning to be loved and acknowledged. Mary is a Capricorn just like me and our birthdays are like 2 or 3 days apart (which explains how I can understand what I hear in her voice, lol). Anyway, I observed something today about the state of music. What is that you ask? Music today sucks. Yes Im quite sure that you already knew that, but I mean it really really sucks. Sex was not as relevant, being a goon was not as important, and not every song was so much about getting money. Music was fun, and it made you want to dance. Puffy knew how to do one thing and that was make you dance. I just cant get into the Plies, Young Money (I like Drake, even though he looks like Sam the Eagle from the Muppets, lol), Young Jeezy, etc crowd. I remember when world premieres meant something. I remember gathering at my great-grandmother's house to watch the world premiere of Michael Jackson's Bad video like it was a movie. I remember every single holiday watching Motown 25. This went on for like 6 years straight. EVERY SINGLE HOLIDAY...We watched it so much that I imitated MJ and ran into my grandma's RCA tv which resulted in a painful trip to the ER. Im 27 years old and I would rather listen to V103(Chicago radio station) than WGCI (also Chicago radio station). Why? Old school songs are classic, timeless, and can take you back to certain places. I miss when I used to cut school to watch Making the Video on MTV to see the new Backstreet Boys or N'Sync video. Hey Im eclectic...dont judge, lmao. Or waiting to see who was going to be on TRL. BET set the standard back in the 80's and after Video Soul and Teen Summitt were taken off the air, BET has never been the same. I vowed to only look at BET for their award shows and thats it. Unless they are honoring artists of the past there is no reason to watch it. Im ashamed as a african american mother to let my son watch anything on BET. I want to raise a respectable, honest, hard-working african american man. Not a get money hoodlum. Im just as ashamed at BET as Bob Johnson's wife. Im ashamed at what has happened to the state of music. Maybe some day all this hoo-ha will go away and I can get to listening to quality music. I wont hold my breath waiting for it though.
Labels:
BET,
Mary J. Blige,
Michael Jackson,
MTV,
Music,
Rant
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment